You’re A Good Person

mother daughter

That’s what I told her the other day.

And she said, “Really? You really think I’m a good person?”

“Of course I do!”I said.

“You don’t know how much that means to me to hear you say that,” she said.

That’s part of the conversation I had with my 14-year-old-daughter yesterday. Makes you want to tear up doesn’t it? At least it makes me want to tear up. Why did she think I didn’t think she was a good person? (I dare you to try and say that fast 10 times!)

Okay, I admit that, sometimes, she drives me crazy. And sometimes I think of renting a room somewhere where I can be all by myself and watch whatever TV show I want, and not have to pick empty yogurt containers out of coffee mugs, and find everything right where I left it, and not have anyone ask me what is there to eat.
I admit it.

I do tell her I love her and give her hugs. But despite all that, I can’t believe that I somehow neglected to convey to her that I think she’s a good person. And she was so pleased to hear me tell her that I thought she was a good person. Something as simple as that.

So, if there is someone dear to your heart that occasionally drives you crazy, but deep down you know they are a good person . . . tell them so. It means a lot. Maybe more than you think.

Leave a Reply

alindar

ideas

A Guy's Moleskine Notebook

Books. Reflections. Travel.

rodalena

"A fool also is full of words…" -Ecclesiastes 10:14a

Marc J Chalifoux Photography

A showcase of recent and archived images

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

The Matilda Project

Bookish Adventures

MackenzieChester

Building a Creative Family Culture

BlogWest Media

BlogWest 2014 is March 28 - 30, 2014 in Vancouver, BC

GMB AKASH

A PHOTOJOURNALIST'S BLOG

Let's Talk About Text

The Musings of a Melodramatic Misfit

An Inland Voyage

News, Views and Musings From Yankton, S.D.

Annie Was Here

Writer. Digital strategy expert. Reluctant farmer. Lover of golf, basketball, labradors and comedy.

Write in the Midwest

Dianna Graveman, Missouri writer and editor

Komment on...

Help for small businesses with marketing ideas, tips and tricks from Vic Knight Projects

The Dolce Vita Diaries

Stories and Recipes from an Italian olive grove

Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

